University of Limerick (UL)

University of Limerick (UL) Campus
The University of Limerick was established in 1972 as the National Institute for Higher Education, Limerick. The campus is located along the River Shannon, on a 800 acre site, located three miles from Limerick city center.
It received its university status by statute in 1989, making it Ireland's first new university since 1922. The university today has a population of over 13,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students.
The medical school at University of Limerick is a new program built in conjunction with the Irish government to serve the medical needs of the growing population of Ireland. The school's inaugural medical class began in September 2007.
University of Limerick's medical school degree is four years in length. The program is arranged entirely as a graduate-entry program, meaning that all admitted students already have an undergraduate degree prior to starting medical school.
As a new program, the curriculum was designed from scratch using the best evidence-based practices for modern medical education. The program is built around Problem-Based Learning (PBL).
The first two years build the foundations of medical knowledge in areas such as physiology and anatomy through small group PBL clinical cases. These are supplemented by interactive lectures and clinical skill teaching.
The third and fourth years continue the learning into the clinical setting. Through supervised and mentored training in hospital and outpatient settings, students learn the hands-on medical understanding and decision-making capacity needed for independent practice. The clinical training is accompanied by concurrent modules in social, behavioural, ethical and legal aspects of medicine. Upon graduation, the BM BS (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery) degrees are awarded.