Monash University Medical School

Monash University Medical School Campus
The Monash University Medical School in Australia offers the four-year Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree, which first began at the Gippsland Campus in 2008.
The Medical School enrolls 60 students each year into the graduate-entry Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) course and is based at purpose-built facilities at Monash University's Gippsland campus. The Gippsland campus is located in the township of Churchill. The 160-kilometre drive from Melbourne takes about two hours, heading east on the Princes Highway.
With a focus on rural health, all student teaching and clinical placements take place throughout Gippsland. Students will predominantly spend the first year in the purpose-built Gippsland facility and undertake clinical rotations at hospitals, community health centres and general practices over the four years of the course.
The medical program provides an interdisciplinary program, organized to provide integration of structure and function within the biomedical sciences. It presents a continually expanding level of medical experience, starting in the first semester of the course. In the first year, the basic medical sciences are taught in the context of their relevance to patient care. Later in the course, clinical teaching builds upon and reinforces this strong scientific foundation.
An emphasis on clinical communication skills as well as early clinical contact visits to medical practices, community care facilities and hospitals is a feature of the four-year graduate-entry Monash degree. All students will spend the majority of their time in rural and regional areas in eastern Victoria as part of a health-care team.
Students enrolled in the four-year Gippsland Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery medical program also have the opportunity of electing to study for an extra year in order to obtain a Bachelor of Medical Science degree. During the 12-month period required for completion of the BMedSc, students undertake research activities supervised through a department of the faculty and complete a minor thesis. They will then graduate with both the MBBS and the BMedSc degrees after five years of study.
Monash University Medical School's Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) curriculum is designed as an integrated structure incorporating four themes, within which semester-long units are taught by staff from a range of departments across the faculty in an interdisciplinary fashion.
In the first year of the MBBS program (year A), the basic medical and behavioural sciences (anatomy, biochemistry, genetics, immunology, microbiology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, psychology and sociology) are introduced within interdisciplinary units. In all of these units, there will be a major focus on clinical issues through clinical case studies. MBBS students will also participate in community partnership placements where they spend time working in a community setting with clients of welfare agencies.
In year B, Monash Medical School students will study integrated medicine and surgery, which will be taught together with a series of problem-based and case-based learning sessions. Year C is largely taken up with core clinical rotations in women's and children's health, general practice and psychological medicine. The final year is structured as a series of electives and selectives, where students will choose to complete their degree by gaining wider experience in chosen disciplines and specific areas of interest through a range of metropolitan, rural and overseas settings.