James Cook University School of Medicine

James Cook University School of Medicine Campus
The James Cook University medical school offers a six-year, full-time undergraduate degree in medicine and surgery, Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). The course aims to produce graduates of the highest academic standards who can progress to medical practice and to further studies in medical specialties. The course places special emphasis on rural and Indigenous health and tropical medicine.
The medical program in based at the Townsville campus for the first three years. The majority of students in years 4, 5 and 6 relocate to other School of Medicine teaching sites such as Cairns, Mackay and Darwin. In years 5 and 6, students spend most of their learning time in hospitals and health services.
The Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) medical degree at James Cook University Medical School produces graduates who will be uniquely qualified in the fields of rural, remote and Indigenous health, and tropical medicine.
The JCU Medical School combines integrated instruction in biomedical sciences, professional practice and clinical medicine, and incorporates the best aspects of student-centred, problem-based learning combined with systematic instruction. Clinical experience, particularly in the rural and remote context, commences at an early stage and science remains integrated across later years. Small-group learning and close relationships with academic staff and clinical preceptors are program features.